Unlucky or lucky?

This has been going on my mind for sometime and finally i could put it together. I’m in no way offencing anyone or mean to hurt anyone.

Who dosent want a perfect family? A perfect child and a perfect life? Everyone does but if something out of this falls in another category, do you leave this perfect domain?

I keep reading everywhere in many groups that you are lucky because you have a healthy child, baby gender should be anything but he or she should be healthy, may god bless you with a a healthy child, you should be happy that you have a healthy child..etcetera

Ok, I’m not a mother of a healthy child and my son has been diagnosed with a life threatening condition and unfortunately there is no cure till date and I know his life expectancy unless we find a cure and save him –  so am I unlucky? and that implies that I’ve not been blessed rightly by the God?

Yes, undoubtedly every kid should be healthy and it’s a bliss to see your child growing like any other normal child would grow. But what if God has other plans for us and you have been blessed with a special child? Reading this makes you perceive that you are unlucky and you are not blessed and you don’t ought to be happy – why? Why is there such a taboo with special children? Why when we see a audistic child, particularly in India, most of the times people turn around and keep staring. Why do people keep looking at someone who is on wheel chair. No one wanted that, no one deserves that but it happens. And if it happens then why isn’t it accepted with a full heart. Why do poeple feel reticent talking about the special conditions of their child and why do they hide. Yes, it took me time as well to share even with family because I was in a state of denial.

There isn’t really an answer to it, but acceptance and walking with it, using the right words probably could lead to a solution. When ever I’m in a online group or even one to one, and I’m reading comments about a healthy child, almost every other comment says you are lucky to have a healthy child. It brings to question me and my inner self time and again, oh am I unlucky? And probably it’s not only me, there would be many more mothers who can relate to this.

No, I m not unlucky! I don’t have a healthy one but im still very lucky because he is a part of my life. He is indeed my life and im glad that God has chosen me to be his mother. I don’t know what the future hold but I live with one day at a time – literally one day at a time and for us each day has to be four times special and each of his birthday has to be four times special for him to live and experience life. With each birthday i feel, i wish i could stop time! I’ve to do all efforts to make him as successful as he can, make him learn as much as he can inspite of a fear in heart. I have to make him fight.

I’m lucky to have a child irrespective of the fact that he is healthy or not – no mother would ever himself consider unlucky just because she has a special child! Atleast I would not! I wish people write that consider yourself lucky because you are a mother! I’m a mother, a mommy, a maa and im very lucky because  I’m blessed with a two little feet in my home! And yes I’ve a perfect family and my son is perfect in all the ways he can be, just because he has a life threatening condition dosent make our family imperfect!

I would still have chosen you
– Terri banish

If before you were born, I could have gone to heaven and saw all the beautiful souls
I would still have chosen you

If God had told me,”This soul would one day need extra care and needs”
I would still have chosen you

If He would have told me,”This soul may make your heart bleed”
I would still have chosen you

If He had told me,”This soul will make you question the depth of your faith”
I would still have chosen you

If He had told me,”This soul may one day witness overbearing suffering”
I would still have chosen you

If He had told me,”All that you know to be normal will drastically change”
I would still have chosen you

Ofcourse I know, I would still have chosen you, it was God who chose me for you.

image

Leave a Reply

